Types Of Plant-Based Diets You Need To Know

Plant-Based Food
Plant-Based Food
Plant-Based Food
Plant-Based Food

Plant-based diets focus primarily on foods that are derived from plants. Some people who follow a plant-based diet only eat foods from plants. But some eat fish, dairy products, and eggs occasionally along with plant-based foods. Hence, the definition of plant-based diets can vary based on the preferences of people.

There are different types of plant-based diets followed by people. We list some of such diets for your knowledge. This will help you to find out which the ideal option for you is.

Vegan Diet

A vegan diet only includes foods that are derived from plants. People who follow these diets do not consume meat, poultry, egg, dairy products, fish and other seafood, and even honey.

Vegan diets are followed by people because of different reasons including health benefits, environmental concerns, ethical reasons, and animal welfare concerns.

Vegan diets are one of the most restrictive diets and they are often accompanied by many other related lifestyle choices like abstinence from the use of animal products like wool and leather.

Food items that are permitted in vegan diets include fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, oils (derived from plants), grains, legumes, herbs, and spices.

Foods that are excluded from a vegan diet include:

  • Meat (poultry, beef, pork, lamb, fish, seafood, and meat-based sauces and broths)
  • Dairy products (milk, butter, cheese, yogurt, ice cream, casein, whey, and lactose)
  • Fats/Oils (fish oil, tallow, lard, and mayonnaise)
  • Eggs (all types)
  • Others (honey, gelatin, fish sauce, bee pollen, etc.)

Vegetarian Diet

Vegetarian diets are another type of plant-based diet that is less restrictive than vegan diets. Vegetarian diets allow all the foods permitted in a vegan diet, and they also allow some animal products too. However, the choice of including animal products in your plant-based meal can be dependent on the type of vegetarian diet you choose.

You can prepare a diet plan on your own when it comes to vegetarian diets as they are very flexible. Vegetarian diets are classified into different categories. They include:

Lacto-ovo-vegetarian: This diet allows eggs and dairy products, but excludes meat.

Ovo vegetarian: It allows eggs, but does not involve dairy and meat products.

Lacto vegetarian: This diet permits dairy products, but excludes all meat products, eggs, and other products that include eggs (like mayonnaise and baked goods).

Pescatarian: This diet will be mainly focused on plant-based foods, but it also allows eggs, dairy products, and fish. It excludes meat and meat-based products.

There are different types of plant-based diets. Hence, it will be possible for you to choose a diet plan that can suit you the best.